Alora-led PHL team rules 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Championships

Alora-led PHL team rules 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Championships


Olympian and Asian Games bronze medallist Kirstie Elaine Alora delivered gold in her event to spearhead the country’s domination of the 14th ASEAN Taekwondo Championships held last May at the SM Mall of Asia Music Hall in Pasay City.

Other notable names who struck gold in the two-day meet were Gabriel Teruel, Kurt Pasiuelas, Reign Charm Ragutana, Israel Cesar Santos, Abigail Faye Valdez and Noel Sabillano.

Thanks to Alora and company, the Filipinos ran away with the overall title with a whopping total of 27 golds, 26 silvers and 20 bronzes, finishing ahead of Vietnam, which ended up with a 19-14-28 (gold, silver and bronze) haul.

The Philippines will be banking on Alora and the rest of the national team when they compete in the 30th Southeast Asian Games at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum late this year.

Alora will be out to improve on a silver medal finish in the last edition of the biennial event in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia two years ago.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap